When Work Upstages Love

Practicing for a career in Something! .

(EDIT: one loyal reader said that this post was hard to understand because I did not give enough background information. Therefore I have re-written parts of this post to clarify, to answer a pressing question, and to add a bit I accidentally omitted.)

Eleven days ago I addressed a “Dangerous Topic” : would it be better to have a guaranteed great career or a guaranteed great marriage. I expressed dismay that more than half the respondents chose the guaranteed career. Today I’m taking that idea on in a more light-hearted manner…

In a world where career over love is the norm, these are some of the top hits:

  • “Hit Me Baby One More Time” becomes “Promote me, Lady, One More Time.”  
  • “Love Me Tender” becomes “Win that Tender”
  • “Like a Virgin” becomes “Like a Newbie”
  • “R.E.S.P.E.C.T”  has same title, but lyrics have changed to “All I’m asking for is a little respect when you get home to work”
  • “You’ve Lost that Lovin’ Feelin’” becomes “You’ve Lost that Tenure Option’”

In a world where career over love is the goal, tombstones might look more like this:

  • Joe Johnson   First in Finance R.I.P.
  • Susan Smithee   Youngest to Make Partner at Taylor & Taylor R.I.P.
  • Dana Jones    Voted Peoria’s Best Dentist in ’52, ’53 and ’58. R.I.P.
  • Caleb Wilson   Archeologist, on Cover of TIME Magazine R.I.P.
  • Absidy Klein    6.2 million Twitter followers R.I.P.

I can imagine that last one happening now…. (ugh)

If you can think of more song titles worrying about work or tomb engravings celebrating a career, please send them along. I’d love to see them.

Love is the spirit of life unto the adorned body of mankind, the establisher of true civilization in this mortal world, and the shedder of imperishable glory upon every high-aiming race and nation.

Abdu’l-Baha

***

Day 16 – Akka made a joke a few days ago: What do you call a midnight snack during the fast? Answer: “lunch” Ha ha. Confession: I had lunch last night.

The photo – inquiring minds want to know Who Is That? That is Daughter Lua, about age 10 … not being a witch for a change. It looks like she is coming from a shower, but I think she might have been a surgeon. She was definitely going trick-or-treating.

This fast is nearly over. Three more days, three more posts.

***

Leave a comment