Waking Up

It took exactly 3 weeks from the time I committed to the habit of one tiny Scripture verse every night (14 Feb) to arrive at a decision that seems to be life-changing.(6 March).

The decision: I gave up using personal screens for entertainment. No more games. No more you-tubes for fun. No more Facebook reels. Laptop and phone are tools only. I finally acknowledged the fact that – FOR ME – the screen-based “entertainment” was not really entertaining any more.

The result: Somehow I am embracing boredom. It’s ok for me to sit in silence. I can also quilt in silence, sweep the house in silence, take walks in silence. The last two (sweeping and taking a walk) were things that were not happening when I was sitting in my easy chair solving my online sudokus, text twists and jigsaw puzzles.

Only day 3 was a little hard. The rest of the time I just felt/feel relieved to be scrolling no more. It’s like getting free of sugar cravings.

I feel like I’m waking up.

Like I really SEE this water beaded on Austin’s handmade soap as I am the first one in the shower today … and wonder WHY? The capacity for wonder has always been there, but in the you-tube days I would likely have been thinking about the murder case or the celebrity intrigues, and not been looking around or paying attention.

All this is to say that one small verse a night, one pitiful teeny-tiny step done consistently, is bearing fruit.

A low bar is fine – just keep crossing it.

Let each morn be better than its eve and each morrow richer than its yesterday

tablets of baha’u’llah, p. 138

***

Thanks for reading along.

See you tomorrow.

***

1 thought on “Waking Up

  1. Pingback: 14 March 2024 | Flora and Fauna Weekly Report

Leave a comment